My Little Poem Pad

Hey! It’s been a while since I’ve written something like this, so here goes.

I reached a bit of stagnation with writing, rarely touching my MacBook to even kickstart the creative process. Months dwindled without me writing anything, creating anything, really doing anything.

Writing has been an outlet for me for years, so I couldn’t continue with the above regime. Enter, the purchase of a Sass and Belle A5 notepad. I call it “Ajay’s Little Poem Pad”. I haven’t put pen to paper since my university days and I thought maybe, just maybe, the tactility of picking up a pen and putting it on paper might help. Long story short? It did.

I forgot the sensation of using my hands to pen words. The intricacy of joining letters, the visual of the ink leaving the pen and translating to paper, the feeling of watching it unfold before me. This is by no means an advocacy for pen and paper, or to discount electronic creation in favour of, I guess, the “old school approach”. It’s simply me rekindling the creative form I’d lost touch with for years. It’s freeing, exhilarating even.

It’s nice to take time out of my day to manually pen something, to visually see mistakes, edits and corrections with the simple crossing of a line. Now, you can see revisions online through your edit history, though seeing my markups on paper somehow makes it more satisfying as I can more easily track the creative process, my wandering mind; my thoughts.

I guess it’s ironic, really, that I’m typing this post out whilst its topic is of a more, erm, manual reverence.

Now, there’s more to the creative process than just the assembly of words. Like many creatives (although I don’t class myself as a true creative, there are many more beautiful minds out there than my own), it’s a combination of things for me. For me, it’s the addition of music, though I guess that’s not unlike many writers who utilise sound as a backdrop to their thoughts. Though, to be honest, the combination of music with pen and paper has reinvigorated my motivation for creation. The subtle background noise of melodic and concept-provoking resonance heightens my writing structure and application.

Anyhow. The point of this post? I guess, an ode to the pen? Eh, probably not, I don’t think I have a point to realistically make here. All I’ll say is that I’m glad to be in the place that I am at present. Oh, and for you to expect some of those poems to come out soon.

Thanks, as always, for reading.

– Ajay


featured image @ myself

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑